Cracknola (or Paleo Granola)

This is not a food blog. I will not regularly post about recipes and food, because 1), I use the recipes off other people’s food blogs and rarely come up with something inventive all on my own, and 2), I do not have the patience to take artsy photos of all the ingredients and steps involved. Also there is very likely to be dog hair in the finished product, which turns people off. I hear.

Josh and I have been on the oh-so-trendy “paleo” diet for the past few months. I personally hate trendy diets, but Joshua feels differently. He was also one of the first non-Celiacs to eschew gluten back in 2006 when you couldn’t yet find gluten-free foods on an average menu. Josh rigidly adheres to the paleo diet [no grains or sugar, ever (which makes him a drag to invite to a dinner party)], and I’m a little more relaxed about it. Most days I avoid grains (because truly, I feel great on this diet, despite my initial skepticism), but if there’s wood fired pizza in the vicinity I am quick to rescind my no-carb vows.

We have slowly started to replace our recipes with grain-free versions. Breakfast is one of the hardest meals for me, because I don’t always have time to fix myself eggs in the morning. Sometimes I just want cereal, quick and easy, and I missed my old homemade granola. The internet did not fail me. I found a recipe that has erased cereal cravings. Why would I ever want toasted oats when I could eat THIS instead? Josh and I have agreed that if we had to live on one food for all of eternity, we both choose this. World, I give you:

CRACKNOLA.

Your life will be changed for the better. This recipe is based on the one over at Paleo Cupboard, except I found theirs to be too sweet and too salty. My proportions are adjusted here.

Cracknola Ingredients

4 c. mixed raw nuts (almonds, cashews, walnuts, hazelnuts)

1 c. large shaved coconut

1/2 c. raw pepitas (pumpkin seeds)

1/2 c. raw sunflower seeds

1/2 c. coconut oil

1/3 c. honey

2 tsp. vanilla extract

1 tsp. salt, divided

1 c. dried blueberries or cranberries. Or raisins if you want to be boring.

  1. Preheat the oven to 275.
  2. Pulse the nuts (in 2 batches) coarsely in the food processor. Think granola-sized pieces. Dump into a large bowl, and mix in coconut, pepitas, and sunflower seeds.
  3. In a small pan, heat the coconut oil, honey, and vanilla, just until the coconut oil liquefies. Pour the oil mixture over the nut mix and stir. It will be very sticky.
  4. Pour onto 2 baking sheets lined with parchment paper. Do not forget the parchment. Really. It doesn’t matter if your baking sheet is nonstick, you must have parchment.
  5. Bake for appx. 20 min, stirring once halfway through. The granola should turn a pretty golden granola color. (Note: baking time really varies by oven. In my new oven, I have to bake at 300° for a total of 40 minutes, so be flexible here.)
  6. Remove from the oven, and while still hot, sprinkle a 1/2 tsp. sea salt on each pan (for a total of 1 tsp.).
  7. Sprinkle your dried fruit on top, and press it into the granola with the back of a spatula.

The sticky granola will dry crunchy. Once it cools, store in a plastic tupperware or gallon-size ziploc.

Cracknola

Feel smug that you can eat this and still call yourself a caveman. Sort of.

Linked up at: http://salttree.net/ Making Skip To My Lou

6 thoughts on “Cracknola (or Paleo Granola)

  1. I made this for the first time today and it tastes sooooo good 🙂 It didn’t dry crunchy the first time though, not sure what I did wrong. I’m guessing even though I followed the timing, because of elevation I didn’t cook it long enough or something. I’m going to bake it again, for a much shorter time and watch it so it doesn’t burn. Even slightly sticky, it’s really good. Will be making it again 🙂 thanks for posting.

    • I’m glad you liked it, even though it didn’t turn out quite as expected 🙂 I think cooking time can vary quite a bit based on elevation, gas, or electric oven. I think the key is low heat (stick with 275) and stir every 10 minutes until it’s a nice golden color. I’ve had some batches come out crisper than others, but they all taste great!

  2. Pingback: Best Homemade Granola EVER! | Cindy Roy

  3. Pingback: Yummy Chia Seed Breakfast Porridge | Cindy Roy

Leave a Reply

